Kathi Diamant


Kathi Diamant is the author of two biographies, Kafka’s Last Love and Heart of the Zoo and contributed to two anthologies.

cover Kafka's Last Love: The Mystery of Dora Diamant

Kafka's Last Love: The Mystery of Dora Diamant

Published by Basic Books, 2003

Kathi’s decades-long immersive research into Franz Kafka’s life yielded surprising discoveries about the enigmatic author, and led to the publication in March 2003 of Dora Diamant’s biography, Kafka’s Last Love, which received international critical acclaim. Her book won the Geisel Award, the "Best of the Best" in the San Diego Book Awards.  Since the first US publication in 2003 and the UK edition in 2004, Kafka’s Last Love has been published in a dozen editions, including translations in French, German, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, Portuguese, Turkish, Arabic, Albanian, and more.

"Kathi Diamant describes a Franz Kafka far different from a grim, inaccessible genius. 'Kafka's Last Love' illuminates the relationship between the writer and Dora Diamant (no relation to the author), the woman with whom he spent the last year of his life."

– The New York Times Book Review

cover Heart of the Zoo: How Zoo Director Chuck Bieler Earned His Stripes

Heart of the Zoo: How Zoo Director Chuck Bieler Earned His Stripes

Published by San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance, 2022

Heart of the Zoom is a biography and a love story. The book tells the story of how one man changed the direction of zoos worldwide, and helped usher in a brighter future for wildlife around the globe.

“This splendid story is a rollicking history of power and change and fortunate happenstance in our ever-so-lucky city.”

–Judith Morgan, journalist, and author, "Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography"

“Dora’s Story: Lost and Found”

InLondon: City of Disappearances, edited by Iain Sinclair.
Published by Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Books, 2007.

“A Memory Come Alive”

In Hot Chocolate for the Mystical Soul: 101 True Stories of Angels, Miracles, and Healing Story, edited by Arielle Ford.
Published by ‎Penguin Publishing Group, 1998.